Elections Results


Elections Results - WSO Board of Directors

Following the election of the WSO Board of Directors, which was declared fair and democratic, a new board has been elected for the period of 2012 – 2016. WSO would like to thank all candidates who stood in the elections.

The new board will convene for the first time on October 10, 2012, during the 8th World Stroke Congress in Brasilia, Brazil.


WSO's new Board of Directors:

Individual members:

Sub-Sahara Africa, Middle East/ East Mediterranean

  • Foad Abd-Allah, Egypt
  • Waleed Khoja, Saudi Arabia


  • Marc Fisher, USA (Member at large)
  • Karen L. Furie, USA
  • Vladimir Hachinski, Canada (Vice President)
  • J. David Spence, Canada


  • Michael Brainin, Austria (Treasurer)
  • Werner Hacke, Germany (Congress Chair)
  • Bo Norrving, Sweden (Immediate Past – President)
  • Peter Sandercock, UK


  • Christopher Chen, Singapore
  • Steve Davis, Australia (President)
  • Valery Feigin, New Zealand
  • Graeme J. Hankey, Australia
  • Ming Liu, China
  • Masayasu Matsumoto, Japan
  • Akira Ogawa, Japan
  • Jeyaraj Durai Pandian, India
  • Shinichiro Uchiyama, Japan
  • Lawrence Ka Sing Wong, Hong Kong (Secretary)

Society members:

Scientific societies

  • Hanne Christensen - Danish Stroke Organization,
  • Anna Czlonkowska - C. and E. European Stroke Society
  • Matthias Endres - German Stroke Society
  • Dongsheng Fan - Beijing Stroke Organization
  • Disya Ratanakorn - Thai Stroke Society
  • Ralph Sacco - American Stroke Association
  • Yukito Shinohara, Japanese Stroke Society (Members at large)
  • Padma Sriyani Gunaratne - Sri Lanka Stroke Society
  • Philip Teal - Canadian Stroke Consortium, Canada
  • Bernard Yan - Stroke Society of Australasia

Stroke societies

  • Jon Barrick - The Stroke Association
  • Natan Bornstein, the Neeman Association for Stroke Survivors (Vice President)
  • Alan Bryer - South African Heart and Stroke Foundation
  • Jelka Jansa - Stroke Alliance for Europe
  • Erin Lalor - National Stroke Foundation
  • Patrice Lindsay - Canadian Stroke Network
  • Daria Lisichenko - Russian Stroke Foundation
  • Sheila Cristina Ouriques Martins - Brazilian Stroke Network
  • Kazuo Minematsu - Japan Stroke Association
  • Risto O. Roine - Finnish Brain Association